What Is The Minimum Wage For Kentucky?
- Michael Paul
Minimum Wage The state of Kentucky’s minimum wage is currently set at $7.25 per hour. If there is a rise in the federal minimum hourly wage, then there will also be an increase in the minimum hourly pay in Kentucky to the same level. Please see this link for further information: Kentucky Statute 337.275 (1)
What is the US minimum wage 2022?
The issue of raising the federal minimum wage is still being debated. In the meanwhile, Democrats in both the House and the Senate have filed a bill called the Raise the Wage Act of 2021, which would gradually raise the federal minimum wage to $15 per hour by the year 2025.
The rate of $7.25 per hour, which is the current nationally mandated minimum wage, was most recently increased in 2009. In addition, the United States Department of Labor has just recently announced new minimum wage rates that will go into effect for workers who are employed on federal contracts or who are related to federal contracts.
Beginning January 1, 2022, all current contracts will be subject to a rate hike of 11.25 dollars an hour. Beginning on January 30, 2022, the rate for work performed on new contracts, renewed contracts, and extended contracts will be $15 per hour.
What’s the minimum wage in tennessee?
NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WTVF) – A plan that would raise the minimum wage in Tennessee from $7.25 per hour to $15 per hour over the course of four years is scheduled to be debated in a Senate committee on Tuesday. Wages would increase to $12 in 2023, then to $13 in 2024, then to $14 in 2025, and then to $15 in 2026.
- In addition, the measure stipulates that an employer must compensate an employee for overtime work at a rate that is at least 1.5 times the regular hourly wage (more than 40 hours a week).
- Since 2009, when the federal minimum wage was raised to $7.25, the state of Tennessee’s minimum wage has remained unchanged.
If someone worked full time at the minimum wage, their annual income would only be around $15,000. The Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates that in the year 2020, around 4% of Tennessee’s workforce was paid at or below the state’s minimum hourly rate.
- The Living Wage Calculator at MIT estimates that an adult in Davidson County who has one kid needs $28.21 per hour in order to make a living wage.
- The minimum wage required to support oneself in the United States is now $14.84 per hour.
- If the law is passed, the state government would wind up footing the bill for this, as the state has more than 1,300 employees whose wages would be raised as a result of the bill.
To bring their employees up to the new hourly rate, state institutions like the University of Texas system would also be required to spend money. All rights reserved for Scripps Media, Inc. in 2022. We reserve all of our rights. It is strictly forbidden to print, broadcast, rewrite, or otherwise disseminate the content found here.
What’s the minimum wage in Texas?
Standard Minimum Wage Because Texas does not have its own state-mandated minimum wage, the state generally follows the federal minimum wage rate, which is now $7.25 per hour, with a few notable exceptions. However, according to the legislation, minimum wage workers in Texas have the ability to negotiate a greater sum with their respective employers.
Did Kentucky minimum wage go up?
Information Regarding the Federal Minimum Wage – $5.15 – Sept.1, 1997 $5.85 – July 24, 2007 $6.55 – July 24, 2008 $7.25 – July 24, 2009 State Minimum Wage Rates The first rate on the list applies to businesses in California with 26 or more staff members.
- Employers in the state of California who have 25 workers or less will be required to pay their workers a minimum wage of $14.00 per hour.
- The second rate listed applies to large companies.
- The minimum wage for workers at companies with fewer than 25 employees will be $8.42 per hour.
- Both the youth pay and the 90-day training wage are going to be set at $8.42 per hour.10 and a half dollars for three workers who are not eligible for benefits from the corporation.
$9.50 an hour for workers who are qualified to receive business benefits. The above rate applies to the majority of businesses in the state of New York. The city of New York has set the minimum wage for all enterprises at $15.00 per hour. The county minimum wage in Westchester and Long Island is currently set at $15 per hour.5 The rate shown is the regular hourly pay for the state, which is $13.50 per hour.