How To Sell A Car In Kentucky?

How To Sell A Car In Kentucky
What you need to know in order to sell a car in the state of Kentucky

  1. Certificate of Title from the Commonwealth of Kentucky (or, if you don’t have any of them, a duplicate title form)
  2. A copy of the insurance policy.
  3. Valid Kentucky ID.
  4. The buyer’s signature is required.
  5. Invoice of the sale.
  6. Lien release.
  7. The payment of all applicable taxes and fees

What paperwork is required when selling a car privately in Kentucky?

When a car is sold by a Kentucky resident to another resident of the Commonwealth, the seller is required to sign the back of the title in the presence of a notary public. By doing so, ownership of the car will be transferred. The buyer has to bring the assigned title, proof that the vehicle is insured in Kentucky, proof that they are an American citizen, and money to cover the fees and taxes that are relevant to the transfer to their local County Clerk’s office.

Do you need a notary to sell a car in Kentucky?

Complete the sections of the Application for Kentucky Certificate of Title/Registration that pertain to both the seller and the buyer. Please take note that the notarization of the seller’s (the transferor’s) and the buyer’s (the transferee’s) signatures is necessary.

Do I keep my license plate when I sell my car in Kentucky?

When I sell my automobile in the state of Kentucky, am I required to remove my license plate? After selling your vehicle, you are required by law to remove your license plate and deliver it to the office of the county clerk in your Kentucky community.

Is a bill of sale required in Kentucky?

In the Commonwealth of Kentucky, registering a car does not require a bill of sale. Nevertheless, it is possible to use it as evidence of purchase. The County Clerk’s Office is where the procedure of registering a car really takes place.

Does a bill of sale have to be notarized in Kentucky?

In the state of Kentucky, is it necessary to have a bill of sale notarized? – Not very often, to be honest. If you are filing for a title on a car that was purchased out of state and the only way to verify ownership in your state is via the use of bills of sale, the signatures on the bill of sale need to be notarized.

How much does a title transfer cost in Kentucky?

What are the fees associated with transferring a title in the state of Kentucky? – The fees for transferring a car title in Kentucky are $9. An extra cost of $22 will be assessed if you still owe money on your vehicle after paying it off. When you purchase or sell a car, you are obliged to pay an extra charge to have the title of the vehicle notarized during the sale of the vehicle.

Is title jumping a felony in Kentucky?

Is it True That Jumping Titles Is a Crime? – Yes, jumping titles is a felony, and it is also unlawful in all 50 states, with a few exceptions. One of these exceptions is when someone has gone away and the family or next of kin desires to sell the car.

See also:  How Many Turkeys Can You Kill In Kentucky?

Can you transfer a car title online in Kentucky?

You can finish your DMV business much more quickly if you use eTags. All Online Services, Including Renewals, Title Transfers, and More! – In the state of Kentucky, the County Clerk’s Office is where you will go to make an application for a new title and registration for your new vehicle.

What is a blue title in KY?

It indicates that the vehicle was involved in a serious collision, fire, or flood. Because it is not possible to drive the car, it cannot be licensed.

Does Kentucky require a bill of sale for a boat?

Last modified: 23 June 2022 The terms and circumstances of a boat or vessel transaction that involves two (2) or more parties, often a private seller and buyer, are documented in a bill of sale for a boat in the state of Kentucky. Everything from the vessel’s current state and basic identification to the purchase price that was previously agreed upon is included in the sales agreement.

  • In order to demonstrate that they are the legitimate owners of the vessel, the new owner will have to provide the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources (DFW) with a bill of sale when they go to register the vessel in their name.
  • Signing Requirements – The paperwork must be signed by both the buyer(s) and the seller(s).

The use of a notary is voluntary but highly encouraged.

Do I need a title for a trailer in Kentucky?

Frequently Asked Questions About Vehicles: Will I Need Auto Insurance for the Car I’m Buying? A: YES. At the time of transfer, the state of Kentucky requires evidence that you have current liability insurance. The insurance card has to include the VIN of the vehicle that is being transferred, should list the new owner as the insured, and should include either the NAIC number or the business code.

Insurance requirements When I go to transfer the title of the property, do I need the seller to be present? A: NO. The buyer may come into our office to transfer the car without the seller present if the seller has completed their portion of the title in its whole, including the signature and the notary, at which point the buyer may do so without the presence of the seller.

(Here is an Example) Do I have an obligation to keep you informed if I decide to rubbish my vehicle? A: YES. In order for the record to be removed from the system, you will need to bring in both your title and your license plate to the office of the county clerk.

  1. If you do not cancel the record, you will be responsible for paying upcoming taxes on a car that you no longer own.
  2. If my automobile is brand new, why do I need to take it in for an inspection? A VIN check is required for any automobiles, new or old, that are being brought into the state of Kentucky from another state.
See also:  What Are The Kentucky And Virginia Resolutions?

This is done to ensure that the documentation being registered with the vehicle matches the vehicle itself. A: Yes, you may transfer ownership by mail. Q: Can I do it via letter? A: NO. It is required that all transfers be completed in person at the office of the county clerk.

  • Why should I be required to pay usage tax based on the book value rather than the amount that I actually paid for it? In accordance with House Bill 380, all motor vehicles in the state are required to have a minimum taxable value.
  • The affidavit of entire consideration provided would be used to determine the value of a used motor vehicle for the purposes of the usage tax; however, the taxable value of the vehicle could not be less than fifty percent of its trade-in value, as specified in the automotive pricing reference manuals (NADA).

How do I go about getting a personalized license plate for my car? A: The general public may purchase the majority of the unique license plates. If the vehicle is presently registered, you are required to bring the current registration plate, the registration certificate, and confirmation that you have current liability insurance in the state of Kentucky to the office of the county clerk.

  1. To view our specialized plates, please click here.
  2. How do I go about obtaining a customized license plate for my car? A properly filled out and signed application for a personalized license plate, along with the appropriate $25 application fee, must be turned in to the office of the county clerk.
  3. To obtain further details, please go here.

When will I finally get the title I’ve been working toward? A: Following receipt of an application, the Titles are then processed by the Department of Transportation and shipped out to the consumer within four to six weeks. In certain situations, the option to pay an extra cost for a “Speed” title that is expedited is offered.

  • After an application is submitted, speed titles are mailed out between four and five days later.
  • If I buy a boat, do I have to have it titled and registered? In the state of Kentucky, a title is required for all motor boats.
  • There is no need to register a boat if it does not have a motor, is not used on public waterways, or is not operated on those waters.

If I buy a trailer, do I have to get it titled and registered? In the state of Kentucky, a title is required for every trailer. It is not necessary to get a registration for trailers that are privately owned and operated and that are utilized for the transportation of boats, baggage, personal items, agricultural goods, farm suppliers, or farm equipment.

Registration is required for trailers that are utilized for profit-making activities. What does it imply when my renewal notification says to “See Clerk” or “See PVA”? I just got the letter in the mail. A: The phrase “See Clerk” is typically interpreted to signify that the registration has lapsed. To renew your registration, you are required to visit our office.

When you see the notation “See PVA,” it indicates that the Property Valuation Office need further information in order to accurately calculate taxes. Before the processing of your renewal can begin, you are required to give the Fayette County Property Valuation Administration a call at (859) 246-2722.

See also:  How To Help In Kentucky?

What should I do about the tax bill that I recently received on a car that I no longer own? A: You are going to need to submit a cancellation request for the registration and title. In the event that the car has been scrapped, both the title and the license plate are required to be returned to the office of the county clerk.

If the car has been sold, then you need to fill out two other affidavits: a “Affidavit for Correction/Exoneration” (62A044) and a “Affidavit of Incomplete Transfer.” Both of these need to be submitted ( 89FCC-266 ). How do I go about changing my name on my title now that I’ve been married? A: If you want to update your title and registration, you need to go to room 102 of the county clerk’s office and bring your marriage certificate, your photo identification, your title, and your registration.

There is a charge of $9.00. A: I would like to know how to amend the address on my registration since I have recently relocated. A: In order to amend your address, please bring your registration together with a picture identification to the room number 102 of the county clerk’s office. It is not necessary for you to get the address shown on the title up to date.

Why do I have to pay taxes on a car that I am not using if I am required to pay those taxes? A: On January 1 of each year, the Property Valuation Administrator will determine the amount of property tax that has to be paid for your automobiles, trailers, and boats.

How much does it cost to transfer a car title in Kentucky?

What are the fees associated with transferring a title in the state of Kentucky? – The fees for transferring a car title in Kentucky are $9. An extra cost of $22 will be assessed if you still owe money on your vehicle after paying it off. When you purchase or sell a car, you are obliged to pay an extra charge to have the title of the vehicle notarized during the sale of the vehicle.

Can you junk a car without a title in Kentucky?

IN ORDER TO JUNK A VEHICLE, YOU MUST PRESENT BOTH THE CURRENT LICENSE PLATE AND THE TITLE AT THE LOCAL COUNTY CLERK’S OFFICE IN YOUR AREA The title must be free of any and all liens, and the Property Valuation Administrator must either confirm that all property taxes have been paid in full or grant an exemption for the buyer.